Birchermüesli

So yeah, I’ve been making muesli. What can I say, I’m caught up in the muesli craze. It’s not a global phenomenon or a new Bay Area breakfast trend, it’s more of a hyperlocal fad centered around our apartment and along the famed Muesli Belt that I imagine roughly follows the Switzerland-Germany border.

The traditional recipe calls for oats soaked in water with lemon juice, cream, diced sour apple and nuts. Some people use orange juice.

In my version, yogurt becomes the acid. I toast some oats and coconut, add vanilla yogurt, plain yogurt, and almond milk in a ratio that balances sour, sweet, and overall fluidity. I add a bunch of dried fruit and nuts. By the next morning it has softened up and turned into a sloppy paste, to which I add more almond milk and whatever fresh fruit I can find. Serve with butterbrot and coffee for a Birchermüesli complet. Or just eat it.

3 Responses to “Birchermüesli”


  1. 1 daisy April 23, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    oddly my mom learned about muesli in hong kong. i think i unfortunately corked her obsession by sending her 10 one-pound bags from bob’s red mill. oops. p.s.: i think about you and cultured pickles every time i eat the east coast version, real pickles.

  2. 2 products December 15, 2016 at 4:36 pm

    It’s actually a nice and helpful piece of info.
    I’m happy that you simply shared this helpful info with us.
    Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.


  1. 1 The Swiss know what they’re doing | Fat is flavor Trackback on April 18, 2013 at 12:58 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos

Archives


