Summer = pesto

Carl‘s got the greenest thumb this side of the East River. Our basil plantings are out of control. And I am grateful for it. If I manage to get my shit together and make a megabatch for the freezer, winter will = pesto too.

Our fridge is full to bursting, what with the CSA and four people constantly “picking up something I found at the Greenmarket” several times a week. But Carl is on a sauce rampage tonight and has turned a quarter of the fridge’s contents into garlic scape dip (using butter beans instead of cannellini), cilantro chutney, and salsa verde (a condiment I could put on anything and everything, especially headcheese. And boiled potatoes, hard-boiled eggs, poached chicken…).

God, I love summer.

4 Responses to “Summer = pesto”


  1. 1 fwc June 24, 2008 at 10:25 am

    it’s funny you mention garlic scapes b/c andy and i just picked some up at the farmer’s market in town. andy read that they’re used in korean cooking, and sure enough when i asked my mom about them she said she loved them. she likes to stir-fry them by themselves or w/ tofu and you can also put them w/ kimchi for extra garlic goodness. i’m making her cook me some next time i go home.

  2. 2 foo June 24, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    by garlic scapes do you mean jiu-tsai? they are also pretty good chopped and scrambled into eggs. i got some seeds from the store this weekend, so we’ll see if it grows indoors. I was actually trying to look for plain old chives but couldn’t find any.

  3. 3 winyang June 25, 2008 at 12:50 am

    Nope. Jiu cai are garlic chives, garlic scapes are the shoots that grow out of hardneck garlic heads (I think the center of a bulb is what remains after the scape is cut away and the garlic heads are dried). Scapes taste straight-up garlicky, while garlic chives have a grassy quality to them.

    I’m fairly certain chives are fairly difficult to grow from seed. Though I might be thinking of something else.

  4. 4 catfoo June 25, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    If you put a bulb of garlic in a bowl of water, and use the shoots that come out, is that the equivalent of a scape? I have a lot of garlic lying around, and the same trick with onions provides a nice batch of green onions.. maybe i should try with garlic.


Leave a comment




Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos

Archives