Citrus I have loved

The one thing that makes me a little sad about imminent Spring:


The end of citrus season.

Like last year, I mail-ordered lots of Sunshine-In-A-Box (Friends Ranches’ Plain Jane box). I love this eight-pound random assortment, which also usually includes a couple of avocados of some unusual and delicious variety.

As well as Meyer lemons and limequats.

And I also ordered, as per Ruth Reichl’s suggestion, a 25-pound box of Kishu mandarins, and learned that 25 pounds is maybe too much to get all at once.

On the other hand:

Two Dekopon are definitely not enough. I happened to read about these mandarins at a most fortuitous moment — just a couple of days later, I visited the Mitsuwa in Edgewater for the first time in years, and discovered that the fruit had made it all the way to New Jersey. There were only six at the time (which I snatched up, of course), but then we returned just this past weekend and bought a box of nine and a few more of these packaged twins. These are by far the most delicious citrus I have ever eaten — even the mediocre ones are tastier than most other oranges and tangerines and whatever hybrids, and the best ones will zing you all over with their perfect balance of sweetness, muskiness, and acidity. I recommend to anyone I allow to eat from my stockpile that he take small bites to better enjoy the lovely texture of the cells.

If you’re wondering why you can’t find Dekopon at Mitsuwa, I’m the reason. (And if you live in California, you should try to get your hands on them immediately.)

5 Responses to “Citrus I have loved”


  1. 1 Brian March 21, 2011 at 8:00 am

    ah, i loved this post. one of the (only) things i’ll miss about winter.

  2. 2 justcooknyc March 27, 2011 at 9:09 am

    limequat? hmm, i’ll have to look into that because i’ve never heard of them before.

  3. 3 Eve April 1, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Thank you for this! Cannot wait to try it. We moved back to the east coast this summer after 4 years in Berkeley and I’ve been having terrible citrus withdrawal. From having a meyer lemon tree outside my door and a huge selection of other fresh, local citrus at the farmers markets and local markets to, well, not much of anything good kinda sucks. This is a godsend. Ordering a plain jane box today.

  4. 4 Errin April 1, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    Citrus is one of the very few things that make winter worth it. I am totally ordering that big box next year. Looks awesome.


  1. 1 Quite simply | Fat is flavor Trackback on March 22, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos

Archives


