If you like it put a ring on it (especially if it’s boozy)

Is it just me, or are some things just better when they’re ring-shaped?

For our second Flyover Feast, wherein we serve food inspired by our Midwestern roots, Joyce and I decided that a jello mold would be necessary. Just a few days before showtime, I just happened to stumble into a real live Tupperware store at the outlet mall in Riverhead, Long Island. I had been anxious about trying to make the mold in my bundt pan, but Tupperware apparently still makes jello molds. Really nice ones, even (though I have no basis for comparison). And I recalled this recipe from Gourmet a few years back. Et voilà, boozy jello mold.

(P.S. I made mine with Champagne.)

(P.P.S. We made two. Molly documented it.)

A post from Brian led me to Molly‘s post, just in time for New Year’s Eve dinner. Everything else came from Dorie Greenspan’s excellent Around My French Table, which I find myself returning to again and again. My new favorite cookbook, perhaps.

In addition to the Chocolate Whiskey Cake, there were

buckwheat blini with paddlefish roe, crème fraîche, and chives,

duck breasts from Dickson’s Farmstand,

kumquat sauce, and a mustardy green lentil salad, which I’ve been missing since the trip to Lyon.

Add a good bottle of champagne, great company, and stir celebratorily.

That’s how you start a new year.

6 Responses to “If you like it put a ring on it (especially if it’s boozy)”


  1. 1 Brian January 10, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    amen.

    (i am so obsessed with the fact you made jello molds)

  2. 2 winyang January 11, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    I think jello molds inspire that kind of obsession. (Either that, or disgust.) It was actually quite tasty. I don’t recommend it for breakfast on a weekday though.

  3. 3 Foo January 16, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    Oh man, did I ever share my thanksgiving jello mold extravaganza with you? One molded salad and one molded panna cotta. Both in the shape of turkeys.

  4. 4 winyang January 16, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    No, and I demand pictures!

  5. 5 Foo January 16, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    On second thought, I think I remember asking you for advice on that project, so I must have told you about it at some stage.

    The salad was waldorf.


  1. 1 Jello Jello « Fat is flavor Trackback on January 20, 2011 at 2:24 am

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos







More Photos

Archives


