Rice to riches

Sometime during my senior year in college, I discovered the pleasures of Kozy Shack rice pudding (is this only an East Coast thing?) and spent a good six months eating a lot of it. And then like so many food phases, I burnt out or lost interest and moved on (to gratin dauphinois, I believe). I recall trying to make rice pudding at one point, but it must have been pretty terrible, because I never tried to make it again — until last week.

Alex was laid low by some kind of stomach bug and needed comfort and nourishment, which made him think of Kozy Shack, which sent me looking for recipes and ultimately I used a few different versions as inspiration and winged it.

It wasn’t Kozy Shack, but it was good.

Cook one cup of basmati at a slow simmer in five or six cups of milk for about an hour. Add a tablespoon of vanilla extract. Combine two egg yolks with one-third cup of sugar and beat thoroughly. Temper yolk mixture with hot milk and then combine and cook for 5 to 10 minutes over low flame, stirring constantly, until slightly thickened. Best cold.

I like to dose my rice pudding with a heavy blanket of cinnamon.

PS. I recently walked past the restaurant from which this post takes its name — a restaurant that makes only rice pudding. Amazingly the place is still open after the better part of a decade. Only in New York, folks.

PPS. I have a new camera.

5 Responses to “Rice to riches”


  1. 1 asarwate December 22, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    I am still using the rice to riches takeout bowl as a butter dish. Those things are sturdy!

  2. 2 chich December 29, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    rice pudding in the rice cooker is aaron’s go-to dessert. it goes something like this: cook rice in rice cooker (sweet rice, because for some reason that’s all we have.. my mom bought it for making some magic post-baby soup but never did and then we didn’t know what to do with it), add one can of sweetened condensed milk, one can of coconut milk, rum, vanilla, raisins, and cook again. of course top with cinnamon.

    i’m not sure i’ve ever made a rice pudding with eggs in it but i like the idea.. will have to try it!

  3. 3 ginkotree January 9, 2011 at 6:23 am

    did you say best cold?? COLD?! 😉

  4. 4 hip chick January 11, 2011 at 7:03 am

    My boss’s mother is from Spain and she makes her rice pudding with anisette. It is slightly licorice flavored. It is to die for. I keep trying to get the recipe. It is like the rice pudding you dream of!

  5. 5 winyang January 11, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    @hipchick Oooh! Anisette! I like the sound of that. I’m sure this would take to all kinds of infusions, just like ice cream custard base — cardamom, star anise, etc.

    @chich Too bad my rice cooker will only work, at a minimum, with 3 cups of raw rice. The thing is a monster.


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos







More Photos

Archives


