Return of summer eats

The CSA Karl and I signed up for has been great. Terra Firma Farm. And Pablito the farmer writes an an illuminating commentary each week that goes out with the boxes. I definitely feel more agriculturally aware. Anyway, here’s our latest take:

And I had to show off my new favorite t-shirt (“vegetarian because i love animals HATE VEGETABLES”), which my friend Alexis has made available at the Breadpig store, alongside his fortune cookies with spam subject lines inside, lolcat fridge magnets, etc.

In other news, the Mission finally has a real weekly farmer’s market! And in true Mission style, there’s Capoeira, foursquare (not the app), food carts, mural painting, etc. But I was there for the food, and very happy to see my favorite farm stand from the Alemany market:

Meanwhile, forageSF is hosting their monthly “Underground Market” this weekend — which judging by the lines last month is no longer underground. Calling something underground is clever branding, though. This will be mostly local prepared food of sporadic quality–but when it’s good it’s GREAT, like Pizza Hacker, who made for Karl and I the best pizza either of us had ever had.

2 Responses to “Return of summer eats”


  1. 1 Valeria July 23, 2010 at 1:32 am

    love that T-Shirt! Although I can’t say I’m vegetarian: being it @ UNISG would be kinda difficult 🙂

  2. 2 Pho July 24, 2010 at 7:45 am

    Great hair in that shot. 🙂

    I love when new farmer’s markets show up. Organizing them is no small feat, I’ve learned, so. I’m even more appreciative. Boston and environs now have possibly double the number than when I first moved here back in ’96.

    -Phoebe


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos







More Photos

Archives


