Have a heart

Or five or six.

[Warning for the faint of — ahem: scores of undoubtedly cute little chickens, ducks, and guinea fowl gave their lives for this post.]

For the last edition of Choice Cuts, we screened the Jules Dassin short of Poe’s “The Tell-Tale Heart.” So obviously, I had to cook some hearts.

My favorite meatmongers at Dickson’s Farmstand Meats (now permanently brick-and-mortared at Chelsea Market) happened to have three bags of various bird hearts for me. However, they were also mixed in with gizzards and livers, so I spent an hour or two picking through the sacks, rinsing and sorting.

I fried them in butter, as per Fergus Henderson,deglazed with a little vincotto, and put those chewy, saucy little hearts on toast. Sprinkle with parsley, serve, rinse, repeat.

3 Responses to “Have a heart”


  1. 1 mononoke November 11, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    What a beauty! I’m in love with these pictures of yours… and this is not just because I’m hungry!

  2. 2 Ben November 24, 2009 at 3:06 am

    This reminds me of a certain dinner we shared at a certain Mario Batali-run tapas bar!

  3. 3 Ian November 24, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    Hi Winnie,

    This is unrelated to your post but in fact to your tweet looking for a photographer in Dublin, Ireland. My friend Loreana Rushe is mostly a music photographer but she’s very good. http://www.myleftventricle.com/

    Ian


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos







More Photos

Archives


