Deceptively simple

I have a tendency to make the most unassuming dishes in the most time-consuming, overwrought way. I figure that the more attention you pay to every step and aspect of making a dish, the better it’s going to be ultimately.

Also, perhaps owing to my Midwestern origins, I like to make shit BIG. I usually put my chicken pot pie in a big 8-quart rondeau, but at the latest Choice Cuts, our numbers called for something bigger. No, for this occasion, I brought out the 16″ x 13″ x 3″ All-Clad roaster.

Which conveniently can roast the two chickens required for the pie with ample room left over. (The missing legs were lunch.) And even more conveniently, the fond and residual fat and juices in the pan were critical in taking this pie to the next level, so no need to wash after roasting. The chickens were picked and shredded.

I had already cooked most of the vegetables the day before. In an effort to clear my fridge of the last couple of CSA hauls, in here there are a few onions, four leeks, ten carrots (regular and white), 1.5 bunches of celery, a couple of pounds of potatoes, and zucchini. The peas came from the Greenmarket — I got them last spring and shucked and froze them. I drained most of the liquid from the pan after roasting the chickens to use in

the white sauce. Which also benefited from some duck and chicken stock cubes that were taking up too much room in the freezer. And butter. Lots and lots of butter.

Once the filling was mixed together, all that was left to do was make the biscuit topping. For full coverage, the pan required four times my standard biscuit recipe.

I’m never going to blow any minds with chicken pot pie, but that’s not what it’s about, is it?

1 Response to “Deceptively simple”


  1. 1 mononoke September 9, 2009 at 9:18 am

    you’re too good! I love this place of yours.


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos

Archives


