A cold one for hot days

Ganda posted last year about Brian’s method for making iced tea, but I thought I’d mention my variant. Also because I’m a recent convert to iced tea. I’d always preferred it hot, but during this heat wave, I would rather not make my insides feel like the outside.

We’ve been making gallons of iced coffee this summer using the cold-brewing method described in the NYTimes a while back. Also coffee ice cubes, which are key. It amazes me that there are still people out there who don’t know about cold brewing.

I’m not a coffee drinker, but I cold-brew iced tea in a similar fashion: before going to sleep, while Matt’s grinding the Stumptown, I drop a bag of PG Tips in a jar, fill it with cold water, and stick it in the fridge. In the morning, I’ve got a perfect, cold iced tea waiting for me. You could do it in less time, of course, but leaving it overnight makes it just the right temperature to help face a 95˚ subway platform.

My next innovation for iced tea will be unsweetened lemonade ice cubes.

3 Responses to “A cold one for hot days”


  1. 1 asarwate August 21, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    Of course, you have to have drinkable water for this — I was making jugs of iced tea (mostly barley tea, actually) but it actually makes the San Diego water taste worse, if such a thing is possible.

    Why do people live in the desert???

  2. 2 Mary August 21, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    MMmm…Iced Tea. There’s a place on Hawthorne that sells a fantastic thyme iced tea thats worth trying. If you’re in town picking up more Stumptown, that is.

  3. 3 Cathy August 30, 2009 at 1:09 am

    Um, this has nothing to do with iced tea, but I have the same chicken bag!


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos

Archives


