Coming soon in 3D and Smell-O-Vision

[blip.tv ?posts_id=1331621&dest=-1]

6 Responses to “Coming soon in 3D and Smell-O-Vision”


  1. 1 bellyspeak October 9, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    I have…so many questions for you.

    Do you trash the first couple boils or do you just let it ride?

    Do you clarify the stock at all or just strain it real well?

    “This is much better than last time.” How often do you do this?

    That’s a lot of head cheese for “as is” consumption. What’s your favorite way to eat it?

    Finally, I’m imagining many entertaining ways to dispose of that skull. Care to speak on that?

    Thanks! and great blog.

  2. 2 winyang October 9, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    1. I just leave it be.

    2. I strain only, and not even all that well.

    3. This was the second time.

    4. I invite a bunch of people over, put out some whole grain mustard and cornichons, salsa verde if I’ve got it, and a loaf of bread.

    5. We’d considered roasting the hell out of the skull to get any remaining bits off and then mounting it or sticking it on a shelf, but got so sick of looking at it after a couple of days, that it just went into the trash.

    Basically, all of the above resulted from the whole production process being very time-consuming and pretty exhausting. By the time I get to picking the meat off the head, I just want to be done with it.

  3. 3 ntsc October 11, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    Souse, and from that I assume headcheese, freezes far better than I would have expected.

    I must try this, but am wrecking the kitehcn on Tuesday, literally. I’m pulling the counters and replacing.

    My wife wants a smoked pig’s head as a Thanksgiving centerpiece, perhaps she will settle for a skull.


  1. 1 A: Say cheese! « glutton dressed as lamb Trackback on November 5, 2008 at 1:44 am
  2. 2 The Umami Reader, vol.034 - Umami Mart Trackback on August 1, 2016 at 7:35 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos







More Photos

Archives


