DFW, heartbroken

I respect DFW far too much to try to wax poetic here, so I’ll keep this short. More than anyone else I have read so far, I felt like he was finally perfectly articulating existing. For me, he was the voice of our generation and my friendship-dealbreaker reading test. When I heard about his suicide, I finally understood what it meant to deeply regret what could no longer be expected. I can’t describe how much I envy those who have yet to discover Infinite Jest and understand Federer.

3 Responses to “DFW, heartbroken”


  1. 1 Ryan September 15, 2008 at 9:52 am

    This was sad. Certainly the saddest thing that’s happened all year. That we won’t have his voice, his humor, his understanding of the human condition. Makes me feel like I should read Infinite Jest again.

  2. 2 winyang September 15, 2008 at 11:22 am

    He is definitely more than a footnote in literary history, that’s for damn sure.

    RIP, DFW. You are missed by many.

  3. 3 natalie September 20, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    totally random…but i found your site trying to figure out how to de-beard mussels. and saw the dfw post. he was a prof of mine at pomona. it’s so very sad, but nice to see that even people who didn’t know him feel the loss. you’re right that he had a very nuanced view of reality, so thoughtful. ugh. dave. anyway thanks for the mussel info.


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos







More Photos

Archives


