One of the few great things to come out of colonialism

The best banh mi I have ever had, hands down. Ba Xuyen in Sunset Park. This is the No. 1: a perfectly balanced combination of crusty, yeasty rice-flour baguette, a generous slice each of creamy, velvety-rich pork pâté, delicately gelatinous headcheese, salty-sweet smoked ham, and the zingy acidity of pickled julienned carrot and daikon. Cilantro and mayo bind all of it together into one truly transcendental mouthful. I could eat one every day. Actually, I could probably handle only half of one every day; you get a lot of banh mi for your $3.50.

I can’t believe it took me six years to get my hands on this. I have been remiss. But believe you me, I am going to make up for lost time. And lost sandwiches.

Also: trust the nice lady when she tells you that the avocado shake is really good. It is.

2 Responses to “One of the few great things to come out of colonialism”


  1. 2 Dahveed May 14, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    Must be something in the air. I just blogged a bit o’ bánh mì moiself. True heaven. Yours looks a little more, ahem, healthful than mine did. Haven’t barfed yet, tho.


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos

Archives


