a letter of mobilization

Dear Taco Truck,

Better and more knowledgeable writers have penned their own love letters to you, the petition to save LA’s taco trucks is more than encouraging (come on, you too!), and I’m only just really getting to know you. But I needed to write to say this:

You had me at cabeza.

For someone whose childhood imprinting of Mexican was the Taco Bell Nachos Supreme, this is revelatory. So juicy. So flavorful. So… multiple. So I’ll be back. You, taco truck, are the town troubadour of tastiness. Your ambulatory existence draws crowds wherever you go and inspires legions. You have replaced the Oscar Mayer Weinermobile in my fantasies of meals on wheels.

Same place same time? See you there.

yours,

joyce.

5 Responses to “a letter of mobilization”


  1. 1 Tom Terrell April 29, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    wow. amazing. I love your writing… can’t stop reading when I should be doing classwork!

    I am a friend of Anthony Wilson’s (he taught a jazz combo class I took) and a trumpet music major at UCLA. I ran into him at a gig and told him about my senior recital/art project in which I am receiving a grant to put on. It’s centered around food and music, and because its focus is on Slow Food, I get to advertise it (and get money because of it!) as a cultural awareness event. He thought of you instantly, and I’m glad he gave me your link. This stuff is great! Huge fan!

    If you’ve got a few seconds, I was wondering if I could pick your brain and see what you think about pairing music and food and presenting it on this type of platform. Paralleling the music program the audience will be served a seven-course meal. Right now I have a sushi chef friend of mine brainstorming with me, but we’re a little stuck as to how to pull this off, specifically, serving the best food with the right music. Just to give you an idea, we’re starting off with an ambient composition of mine, moving into some folk stuff (a Brian Wilson tune!), then a couple classical pieces, a jazz quintet, and ending with a small chamber orchestra with hammond B-3 organ and sythensizers. What do you think? Most people play boring boroque trumpet music on their recitals, so I’m really going for it, with the grant and all… I’m bringing in a bunch of really cool artists, including a live improvisational painter, commissioning a couple compositions, etc

    Let me know what you think. Any kind of thoughts/ideas would be a blessing.

    Keep writing! I’ll be following the blogs closely!

    Tom Terrell
    562-787-0782

  2. 2 catfoo April 30, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    joyce,

    can you take me here next time i am in LA?

  3. 3 joyce April 30, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    for you, catfoo, we’ll do a taco truck tour.

  4. 4 catfoo May 2, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    great!

    btw the plight of the LA taco truck made it to the nytimes:
    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/05/03/us/03taco.html

  5. 5 winyang May 13, 2008 at 10:32 am

    Dear Joyce,

    Forget tacos. Well, unless it’s a kimchi taco.

    Keepin’ it real,
    Bulgogi Truck


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos

Archives


