Refrigerator raid: David

Name: David Szanto
Age: 40
Location: Montreal
Occupation: Food Writer and Consultant
Grocery shops: 3x/week
Cooks: 6x/week
Eats out: 1x/week
Favorite condiment: I am not Sophie and I will not make this choice.
Favorite beer: Munich (a rousse from Réservoir, the brewpub down
the street)
Favorite takeout: rotisserie chicken from the Portuguese grillade
shop up the street
Grossest thing in there: overworked baking soda

Other items of note:
Pineau des Charentes — on hand for emergency Louisiana Sidecar makings. The (finally) final serving of celery root remoulade (one of those fucking things lasts forever…). Chunks of roasted pumpkin (or a pumpkin-like thing), bought raw from the Vietnamese-Portuguese grocery store next door. Judging by the 1-kilo slab I bought, the original vegetable must be two or three feet across and have to be hacked up with a scimitar. Sriracha, Matouk’s, El Yucateco Chipotle sauce, canned chipotles in
adobo, Chili Garlic Paste, Sweet Chilil Sauce for Chicken, Tabasco, Maçarico piri piri. I burn in heaven.

[David, did you make that bowl in the freezer?]

3 Responses to “Refrigerator raid: David”


  1. 1 Dahveed March 3, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    Yes W, that is one of my bowls. I keep big Angel’s-Share-like chunks of ice in it for cocktails cause my ice-cube trays from Dollarama broke the third time I used them and so now I just freeze a slab of ice in a big piece of Tupperware (not shown) and then whack it with my ladle into pleasing pieces. More ways to keep myself occupied during the long, cold, dark months of Montreal winter…

  2. 2 catfoo March 4, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    this is an extremely tidy refrigerator.

  3. 3 daisy March 10, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    i’ve only had brunch at reservoir, and it was delicious. have you had chloe’s chocolates?!


Leave a comment




Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos

Archives