Super Tuesday

The California primaries are tomorrow, and I don’t know who to vote for. And let’s not get into the ever-present California propositions — the Superbowl was sprinkled liberally with ads for and against the series of four propositions on gaming deals with various native american tribes.

I don’t believe in voting on this concept of “electability”. It’s always seemed like some sort of projection of yourself onto the American public, like playing some sort of cat-and-mouse mental games with everyone else, and it makes me feel like a pawn in some game I don’t quite understand. So I just can’t bring myself to do it, or really, even consider it. Who am I to say that the public will respond to a certain candidate in a certain way? And I don’t trust polls unless I see the polling methods and the statistical errors.

For the first part of the primary season, I was leaning about 75% towards voting for Clinton. She has plans within plans. She totally knows all about the attack alligators that hang out in the moat around the White House. She’s developed a tough skin to deal with all of this. I already knew who she was, I was happy with having her as a choice to vote for, and didn’t really care to learn more about any other candidate. And Obama seemed so positive and optimistic about everything, and I am too cynical for that.

A couple weeks ago I read a New Yorker article about Clinton vs Obama and how in some sense, it’s a question of how one views the role of the President. Is the President a do-er, or is he or she supposed to be an inspirer? This question is still lingering with me, and at the time, tipped the scales back to near-even.

And then this weekend, those goddamn Obama ads got me all teary and I totally feel manipulated by the forces of advertising agencies. But it worked and now I’m about 60% Obama and I’ve got 24 hours left. I don’t know how to decide — I don’t really want to decide — I think I’ll just go and see what the pen wants to do tomorrow morning.

I would rather have the option that was occasionally pulled out in high school class president elections and decide that we will have co-presidents for the next 8 years.

By the way, the best proposition ever is on the San Francisco ballot this year:
Proposition C: Shall It Be The Policy Of The City Of San Francisco To Support And Facilitate The Acquisition Of Alcatraz Island For The Express Purpose Of Transforming Alcatraz Island Into The Global Peace center?

Hippies are hilarious.

4 Responses to “Super Tuesday”


  1. 1 fwc February 4, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    i’m totally down w/ hillary for the reasons you said. obama’s way too huggy-touchy-feely, “republicans and democrats can be friends” for me. since when did compromise accomplish anything? (viz. “separate but equal” jim crow laws)

  2. 2 joyce February 5, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    i agree; don’t underestimate the attack alligators. and btw, i did feel some sort of goosebumpy thrill while i was voting today, which was promptly replaced by a doofus-y smile after i got my voting sticker.

  3. 3 winyang February 6, 2008 at 2:18 am

    I voted for the very first time today at a voting booth, which was pretty thrilling. It was one of those old-school ones where you pull the red lever all the way to one side before you throw down the switches for your votes and then pull the lever back. Definitely way better than filling out the overseas voter card, which is a little too much like a Scantron test. I didn’t get a sticker.

    Come on, Fred: where’s the love?

  4. 4 catfoo February 6, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    In case you were wondering, the global peace center proposition failed, although A. was still shocked that 28% voted yes.


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos







More Photos

Archives


