Curry favors (rice, obviously)

I know. Everything I make from that Indian cookbook sort of looks the same. That’s probably because I tend to gravitate toward certain recipes. This is butternut squash, cooked with turmeric, chana dal, onion (my addition — I am, as ever, terrible at following recipes to the letter), mustard seed, coconut, and cumin. I would make it again. (And will probably have to, given how much dal, frozen grated coconut, and turmeric I now have.)

Ganda knows how to tend to a girl’s broken heart. I mean, it’s not patched up, but I was briefly distracted and most definitely comforted by that elusive yet familiar flavor (turmeric? cumin? Wikipedia, you’re no help. “Curry mix”? Pfffft.) that’s the backbone of Japanese curry. I’ve only ever made Japanese curry from the Golden Curry mix, which is apparently the gold (sorry) standard Ganda shoots for when she makes hers (from scratch). I much prefer Ganda Curry to Golden Curry.

0 Responses to “Curry favors (rice, obviously)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos







More Photos

Archives


