Carbonara

If it weren’t for Marisa, I’d probably just be reading about all the food-related happenings that go on around town, but thanks to her, I got some Meatopia action, I’ve been to openings and restaurant anniversaries, and last night I took part in this mini-festa di carbonara.

We were surprised that Cesare Casella uses bacon — especially when all everyone’s been talking about lately is guanciale — but I, for one, am glad he does. It’s what I usually use at home, and his sauce has a creamy consistency like mine (really, few things are grosser than those scrambled egg carbonaras. Eccchh.). There is something about bacon that imparts a sourness to the dish though. I used guanciale all the time in Italy, since that was easier to get, and you get much cleaner, sweeter flavors. Also, I love bacon, but there’s something disturbing about all the charcoal dust that settles out when you render it. You never get that with guanciale.

Speaking of cured pig jowl, I totally double-taked when I read Florence’s piece on guanciale. What? It means “pillow”? I don’t think so. That’s like saying the sound a dog makes means “covering of a tree.” (I’m sure there’s a better example, but that’s the only one I can come up with right now.) Jeremy, of course, does a fine job sorting it all out.

3 Responses to “Carbonara”


  1. 1 dobianchi January 18, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    I love the analogy: “like saying the sound a dog makes means ‘covering of a tree.'” Azzeccatissima…

    I’m so bummed I missed Cesare’s Carbonara!

  2. 2 314park January 20, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    I liked the “bark” comment too. It gave a good chuckle. Looking forward to having carbonara myself, Erika makes a good one, creamy and with bacon.


  1. 1 Carbonara (and Matelica) « Do Bianchi Trackback on January 18, 2008 at 4:32 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos

Archives


