Asian Dad Eulogy #2

I promised Winnie I’d post this, so here it is. This is one of my favorite emails of all time & it’s from my dad a couple years back.

Dear my children,

I am sad today. I feel like I have lost a good friend or a real good horse today which was very close to me for seven months and seventeen years. It has kept a lot of memories for our family. It ran nearly one hundred sixty thousand miles for our family and mostly for my business recently. It had been to the East Coast more than five times.

Deep blue color. Square shape. It never hit anyone but it was hit twice by others.

Its engine was still good and was quiet like a sleeping baby while it ran. I had oil change for it every three thousand miles. I loved it. I am small but my car was so huge. I miss my van. I will miss it more in the future because it will remind me of all the places I pass by and I will be gone soon, too, like it. I sold it because it got too old and had many troubles and it drank gas like a whale.

I sold it today at $4oo. My old horse has gone from me. But many memories about it will be with me and with you.

Love,

Dad.

2 Responses to “Asian Dad Eulogy #2”


  1. 1 winyang January 9, 2008 at 10:26 am

    Okay, the whole thing is hilarious, but I didn’t actually laugh aloud till I got to the “it drank gas like a whale” part. Your dad is awesome. Joyce, you kind of drink gas like a whale too, you know.

  2. 2 catfoo January 11, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    oh man, winnie, i was going to say the SAME THING about the whale drinking gas.


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos

Archives


