Big brother

Should I be disturbed or honored?
But more importantly: how did they know?

(Thanks for sending, fwc.)

And, the latest in the Danny-Meyer-Bend-Over-Backward Customer Service Chronicles: yesterday I stopped by Shake Shack to see if they could do something about this nagging, Mojave-Desert thirst I’d had most of the day. In a happy turn of events, they were actually unexpectedly closed due to construction (the new heat lamps, I think) and to console those that had stopped by or schlepped out there, they were giving away free hot chocolate and lemonade (which is actually some iced lemon verbena concoction). Once again, Danny Meyer’s crew impresses with their ability to anticipate my needs — I mean, how did they know I needed lemonade?

And then today, I had an inexplicable craving (if it wasn’t already clear, thirst and appetite determine about 95% of my actions) for a Shake Shack Pie-Oh-My concrete. Excusable since temperatures were in the 60s. The Shack wasn’t closed, and the line was short at 4.30 p.m. I briefly panicked when I didn’t see POM on the menu, but the guy at the register reassured me that yes, they were still making them, and today’s pie was pumpkin. I happily handed over my money. I barely had a chance to crack last week’s New Yorker open in the fading light when I got buzzed, only to find out they had just sold their last pumpkin POM, deeply sorry, did I want anything else? I gave the guy a really genuinely sad face but gamely went with a Concrete Jungle. Only to find out 2 minutes later that they were out of bananas. They insisted on giving me a refund and offered me whatever else I wanted, explaining that that day had been like the worst days in July and January, combined. So that’s how I ended up with a free Hopscotch. And remembered that I’m not completely lactose tolerant. (Apologies to the other passengers in my subway car.)

Rome tomorrow, I promise.

2 Responses to “Big brother”


  1. 1 thefathamster January 9, 2008 at 12:59 am

    yay! fwc on fb! i need to start looking for LA’s version of the pie-oh-my.

  2. 2 fwc January 9, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    i wanna see winnie’s sad “i wanted pie!” face!


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos







More Photos

Archives


