A Mountain View Taqueria whose name I do not know

My sister and I always go to this one Mountain View taqueria (by always, I mean 3 times) called La Bamba on Old Middlefield near Rengstorff. This time, we tried the other taqueria a few doors down which claims “Best Burrito in Bay Area for 8 years!” and “Guinness World Record for Largest Burrito!” It’s a little spot in the back of a convenience store and there’s a long line, which seemed like a good sign. Two burritos for $12.55. I got a carne asada burrito, my sister got a carnitas burrito.

The hot salsa was actually quite spicy, which was nice — I asked for extra, which is apparently always the way to go, according to A. But other than that, it was not nearly as good as La Bamba, which I have yet to review. A ate the remaining half for a midnight snack when today’s torrential hurricane rains and winds woke him up at 5am and deemed it too homogenous and uninteresting.

So we won’t be going back, since we know about a better one next door.

The taqueria on the same block as la bamba on old middlefield way, mountain view

3 Responses to “A Mountain View Taqueria whose name I do not know”


  1. 1 dobianchi January 6, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    La Bamba was recently reviewed on Burritophile. Looking forward to your post…

  2. 2 Lisa May 16, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    It’s called La Costeña

  3. 3 Lisa May 16, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    I like La Costeña better because they have brown rice and you get to see your food and point at what you want. La Bamba’s carnitas are hard to beat though but I’m not often in the mood for carnitas so I always go to La Costeña, brown rice and very good salsa and other extras..


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos

Archives


