They remind me of some people I know

It’s going to take me a while to organize all my Kenya photos, upload them, etc., so in the meantime, I offer you my very first YouTube video. At our campsite at Samburu, the preserve where we went on safari, there was an overly friendly band of baboons that, along with a small family of vervet monkeys, lived maybe a couple dozen feet away from where we were sleeping. By the outhouse/shower just up the hill from our tents, there was an enormous pit, probably 8- to 10-feet deep. We surmised that the baboons and monkeys had gathered up any and all refuse that campers had left behind and chucked it in the pit, where they could then play with, chew, and eat all this crap to their heart’s content.

The baboons are nasty little fuckers and will definitely steal your breakfast (and garbage) if given the opportunity. We had to arm ourselves with a baboon stick, in fact, since they tend to be more aggressive than the cute little vervets (who, let’s be honest here, aren’t any less culpable when it comes to breakfast-stealing). Anyway, in the early mornings, the baboons would all gather around the pit and get all crazy. For example:

I could watch them for HOURS. (This one’s especially fun to watch if you’ve been drinking.)

2 Responses to “They remind me of some people I know”


  1. 1 dobianchi August 2, 2007 at 9:27 am

    great video…!

    what did you eat for breakfast?

  2. 2 foo August 2, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    oh my god. i was eating cereal and milk almost came out my nose.


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos

Archives


