Digging on swine

It’s the Year of the Pig. That’s what they’ve been saying. Well, I definitely could have figured that one out on my own. Try as I might, I can’t keep pork off my plate. At this point, I might as well have lard coursing through my veins.

The suckling pig brick at Boqueria (a place that is capable of some of the better meals I’ve had in the city, so long as I stick to the stuff they do best: pimientos de Padrón, txipirones, patatas bravas, montado de boquerones). We thought this could have been rendered a little less to retain a couple micrometers of that sweet pig fat.

I know what you’re thinking: Oh, that Winnie, always going on about her pork intake. I mean, what’s the big deal? She eats a lot of pork. Does she want a cookie or something? To which I say YES. A bacon cookie, please. Speaking of bacon, that’s what that flesh-colored bit in my succotash is. I stewed the corn, lima beans, and scallions in bacon drippings-flavored milk (Evans Farm creamline, in case you were wondering). And sautéed the sugar snaps in some of the drippings as well. Only the sformato is bacon-free. Actually, I take that back — I caramelized the scallions in the bacon fat too.

Pulled pork at Daisy May’s. Truly superlative ‘cue. More cleanly and expertly executed than Fette Sau, with sauce that, while on the sweet side, offers up a lot more complexity than the latter’s as well. The fixins are damn good too:

Counter-clockwise from 12 o’clock: bourbon peaches, Texas toast, pulled pork, coleslaw, mashed potatoes with gravy that I could swear was made from ground-up angels and unicorns. You know, if angels and unicorns consisted mostly of butter, cream, and lard.

And because no pig post is complete without the nose-to-tail action. This wasn’t actually for our party, but that didn’t stop me from gawking. And then recording it for posterity.

We can all breathe a sigh of relief after tonight (or at least once I’ve digested the pulled pork), because there will be a break in posting (and thus some respite from all this pig talk) while I’m in Kenya. Yeah, that’s right: I leave for Nairobi in the morning. Stay tuned for tales of lions, tigers, and <i>ugi</i>

0 Responses to “Digging on swine”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos







More Photos

Archives


