Tastes like home

A trip to Flushing on Sunday made me long for this dish from my youth:

And so I made some for dinner last night. Not as soupy as my mom’s (she let the tomato sit in the pan until it gave up all its juicy insides) or as well integrated, but still, there’s something about that combination of egg, scallion, and tomato that takes me back. I am seven years old. And I want spaghetti and meatballs, dammit. (Oh, stupid, misspent youth.)

On the way back from dinner on Sunday, we took a detour to the Chinatown Ice Cream Factory (unclear still whether this is the same as the Manhattan original), where I discovered

that contrary to what I had previously believed to be true, Black Sesame is actually a Regular Flavor, and Butter Pecan Exotic (and sorbet is French for “Non Dairy Dessert”).

Okay, I know this is getting to be a bit much, but if you aren’t waiting around for his posts like I am, let me be your Francis feed: another amazing post. The thing about the shit-ton garlic phase is TRUE.

1 Response to “Tastes like home”


  1. 1 emigre August 19, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    That branch of the Chinatown Icecream Factory is so hard to get to, I hope it doesn’t close soon. They don’t even stay open past 9pm on summer evenings.


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos







More Photos

Archives


