Breakfast of champions

Champion, that is, of spring produce. All local: Greenmarket scrambled eggs (Tello), crème fraîche (Ronnybrook), and chives (I forget who, but they’re on the southeasterly side and always have tons of herbs); lettuce and arugula from my half of the weekly Hearty Roots CSA share, with pumpkinseed oil (sadly, from Austria, but seriously, one of the most life-changing additions to my cupboard this year) vinaigrette.

And here’s what that CSA share looks like:

From right, foreground: superspicy mustard greens, arugula, purple basil, japanese turnips, garlic scapes, and lettuces.

I know this is getting kind of ridiculous, but I guess if you’ve had any kind of run-in with my omnivorous ways, you’ll probably figure it’s par for the course. Is there such a thing as too much pig? I, apparently, aim to find out this summer.

I Trulli went nose-to-tail last night at its garden party. Once again, further evidence that pork crackling should rightfully be called pork crack.

0 Responses to “Breakfast of champions”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos

Archives


