Declarables

Funny, but I never declare anything. Not even bottarga. But then again, I can pull a very innocent face. It’s a wee asian thing.

Thanks, Gus, for the shout out.

Okay, technically, this is the second week I’ve seen strawberries at the Greenmarket, but today I managed to stop chowing down long enough on the quart of these I had at my desk to get this one down for posterity. They only get better from here.

6 Responses to “Declarables”


  1. 1 razzbuffnik May 22, 2007 at 6:42 am

    “Funny, but I never declare anything.”

    Has it occured to you that you might be endangering your country’s agriculture? It’s not funny, it’s selfish.

    “But then again, I can pull a very innocent face. It’s a wee asian thing.”

    I bet you wonder why some people act towards you in a stereotypical way when you’re playing such a stereotypical role.

  2. 2 winyang May 22, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    And has it occurred to you that perhaps I’m not bringing over anything that would actually endanger my country’s agriculture? Bottarga is dried, cured mullet roe. Hardly a beast with foot and mouth. Not declaring means not having to deal with, as Jenkins points out, customs officials that interpret regulations their own way.
    And actually, now that I think about it, my country’s agriculture is already sort of compromised, isn’t it, what with supercentralized Big Agribusiness creating conditions that make tainted spinach and green onions a reality of our food system. Or make it impossible to know just where any of the shit I can buy at the supermarket comes from. Or have the government pay the few farmers left in this country to produce enormous quantities of corn that we don’t need, all to make high-fructose corn syrup and antibiotic-riddled feedlot meat that the agribusiness giants can make, distribute, and sell very, very cheaply.
    I think my jars of jam don’t pose much of a problem.
    As for stereotyping: you, sir, need to chill the fuck out. And not take everything so literally.

  3. 3 razzbuffnik May 22, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    “Not declaring means not having to deal with, as Jenkins points out, customs officials that interpret regulations their own way.”

    I’ve never had any problems with declaring (I travel a lot). If you think that there is no problem with the food you are bringing in, why do you “sneak it in”. As for thinking that “jars of jam don’t pose much of a problem”, what makes you the expert? Where do you draw the line in what laws you comply with? Just the ones that suit you? All your self justifying twaddle about big business doesn’t cover up the fact that you are just a self interested game player.

    As for chilling out, who’s the one being so peevish when told how selfish they are being and how they perpetuate stereotypes? Doesn’t take much to set you off.

    Also, it appears that you don’t want to be taken seriously. Fine with me, I certainly won’t.

  4. 4 staceyjoy May 22, 2007 at 8:28 pm

    Thanks for the lovely visit last weekend, Winnie! Did you catch the baby strawberries in my planter outside the shop? They’re very, very cute, in a “wee asian way”. Just like you. 😀

  5. 5 Paul May 24, 2007 at 12:47 am

    Hey razzbuffnik. You’re a jerk. Quit being such a jerk, ya jerk.

  6. 6 Teagan Blackthorne May 24, 2007 at 12:52 am

    I surfed on in while looking for something else. I had found your old blog. Your photos are amazing.


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Flickr Photos

Archives


