Sometimes you can’t win

If it’s not the the slowness of film that delays me, it’s the ill-fitting replacement power adapter I got for the scanner or the outmoded dust-cleaner-upper software. But I’m still here, and I’ve been doing a lot of cooking. Let’s start with November.


We had two Thanksgivings. At the in-laws’, in addition to the turkey and all the fixins, there was also choucroute garnie, because the father-in-law does not mess around. This accounts for the smaller-than-usual portion of cured meats that came before the meal, as usually they occupy half the sideboard. Yes, those are spinach pies back there; a family tradition.

Unsurprisingly, we had ample leftovers, some of which became turkey pot pie. I’m getting pretty okay at making roux, if I do say so myself.

Some more of the leftovers became turkey sandwiches — especially good on Marty’s potato bread.

And for the dinner we hosted, I made Molly’s stuffing — her family’s favorite, and now ours. In fact, we love it so much that I made two batches of it, which, it turns out, is not really a reasonable quantity of stuffing to have around when you’re a household of two, even if you feed half a batch to your guests. But I learned that with the addition of chicken stock and water, carrots, celery, and potatoes, the stuffing makes an excellent soup. The English muffin bits puff up into satiny, cloudlike dumplings, and the liver makes the whole thing deliciously mysterious. This was one of the best things I made all year.

0 Responses to “Sometimes you can’t win”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Winstagram

Had forgotten how much I loved these.

Flickr Photos

(Untitled)

(Untitled)

(Untitled)

More Photos

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

