Alice’s Boureg

This is a video of my great aunt Alice Doney making Armenian boureg (a puffed pastry dumpling made with a ground lamb or cheese filling—nom nom nom) and talking about Armenian history and my family’s migration to the US. Some abrupt editing here as she goes between cooking and talking about the trauma of the genocide. There’s a photo in here of her as a child, with my grandmother Gladys and great-grandmother Esther. I didn’t know until seeing this video that Alice has published recipes—her simplifications of traditional Armenian dishes. This was really touching for me to see, and I’m inspired to make more Armenian goodies… stay tuned!

1 Response to “Alice’s Boureg”


  1. 1 Cathy Surabian McCreary July 12, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    Dear Alyce,
    I remember my Grandma making the best boureg ever, and unfortunately when she died in 1971, nobody else in the family has been able to make it the same. My grandma did make her own dough and made it all in one pan rather than the separate ones. I can’t wait to show my Dad your video. He will be 81 this month! Thanks for sharing. Cathy in Seattle


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram

Categories

Winstagram

Gimpy McGimperson is out of commission, so I'm on protein duty. Upping my searing game. Alex got shoulder surgery, and his office sent us steaks from Eataly. Seems like an okay trade. I love coming home to good mail.

Flickr Photos

(Untitled)

(Untitled)

(Untitled)

More Photos

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

